TOWN OF ALLENSTOWN Budget Committee 16 School Street Allenstown, New Hampshire 03275

Budget Committee meeting on May 18, 2009

David Eaton, chairman of the Budget Committee, opened the meeting at 8:10 PM.

Present at the meeting: Dave Eaton, Sandy McKenney, Ben Pepper, Penny Touchette, Jerry McKenney, Don Chaput, Sted Holton, Ben Fontaine, Jon Richardson, Kate Walker and Mike Frascinella.

In the audience: Sewer Commissioners, Dana Clement, Andrea Martel, Bill Drescher, Michael Trainque, Fern Bissonnette, Lynn Bissonnette, Judy Silva, and other town residents.

Dave introduced Fern Bissonnette, who would like to become a member of the budget committee. Dave asked members if they had any questions for Fern Bissonnette. Sandy asked Fern why he would like to become a member. Fern replied he has never been involved with politics and would like to bring new ideas, and new eyes to the committee to help make a difference. Jerry made a motion to appoint Fern Bissonnette as budget committee member. Don seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Dave read the Sewer Department Warrant Article. Asked members if they had any questions. Mike asked when is the first payment due? Bill Drescher stated one year after completion of construction. Dana Clement stated the intent of the Sewer Commissioners is to pay off the balance after completion of construction. The only interest that will be incurred is 0.5%. Mike asked why it was not stated that way in the warrant article? Bill Drescher stated the Sewer Commissioners wanted some flexibility. Mike asked what is the earliest and latest pay off dates? Dana Clement stated the earliest would be July 25, 2010 and the latest would be 2011 (one year after completion of construction).

Sted made a motion to recommend Warrant Article. Don seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously. Jon made a motion to accept April 16, 2009 minutes as written. Kate seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Next meeting will be on June 25, 2009 at 6:30 PM at the town hall.

Jerry made a motion to close the meeting at 8:20 PM. Penny seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.