Sewer Department
Home |Selectmen |Town Hall arrow down |Departments arrow down |Boards,Comm arrow down |Schools |Forms |Reports |Codes |Budgets,Elections |News |About

Sewer Department
35 Canal Street
Allenstown, NH

Business Hours:
9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

After hours:


The Allenstown Sewer Department provides for the collection and treatment of septic wastewater from Allenstown and Pembroke. The facility also accepts septage trucked from all over New Hampshire by septage haulers. These haulers pay a fee, which helps greatly offset operating expenses.

The Sewer Department is managed by a three-member Sewer Commission, with each member serving a three-year term.

Sewer Commissioners

Name Term of Office Phone
Chad Pelissier 2017-2020 603-485-5600
Vacant 2015-2018 603-485-5600
Carl Caporale 2016-2019 603-485-5600

The Wastewater Treatment Facility, located at 35 Canal Street, is operated by Allenstown and daily operations are administered by a Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent. The sewer system serves primarily the downtown Allenstown area as well as homes and businesses along Route 3 in Pembroke.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Jeffrey Backman Superintendent 603-485-5600 x310
Roxanna Chomas Assistant Superintendent 603-485-5600 x311

Current Sewer Rates

The following rates and fees are in effect.

Sewer Connection Fee: $4126.42 (This is currently under review.)

Sewer rate: $7.57/1,000 gal.

Projects and Accomplishments

For information about Sewer Department projects and accomplishments, go to the Accomplishments page.

Sewer Department Tour

On a cold day in November 2016, the Allenstown Sewer Dept. gave some members of the Allenstown Budget Committee an informative tour of the facility.
 ➤ Full story

Historical Highlights

June 2016 – Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent attained NH Grade IV Collections Certification.

March 8, 2016 – Carl Caporale re-elected as Sewer Commissioner.

Dec. 2015 – Employee Matthew Caporale attained NH Grade 1 Wastewater Certification.

Nov. 2015 –Two new employees hired.

Nov. 2015 – Roxanna Chomas, with over 20 years wastewater treatment experience, hired as Assistant Superintendent.

Nov. 2015 – Jeffrey Backman became Superintendent after Dana Clement retired.

March 10, 2015 – Larry Anderson and Jeff McNamara elected as Sewer Commissioners.

March 11, 2014 – Jeff McNamara re-elected as Sewer Commissioner.

March 12, 2013 – Carl Caporale and Jeff McNamara elected as Sewer Commissioners.

May 18, 2012 – Allenstown selectmen, on May 7, appointed Carl Caporale as Sewer Commissioner, to serve the remainder of Charles Martel's term.

Apr. 11, 2012 – According to the April 9 Selectmen's agenda, sewer commissioner Charles Martel resigned soon after the election.
On April 11, the selectmen sent out a town newsletter asking for applicants to file a letter of interest no later than April 23.

March 13, 2012 – Election results made Larry Anderson the newest sewer commissioner, replacing long-time incumbent Jim Rodger.

Top  Home

Copyright © 2017 by MAFware Solutions Contact: Webmaster